2012 has arrived….238 days to go…..

So 2012 has arrived and we begin the final quarter countdown to our home Paralympics with the opening ceremony just 238 days away as I blog this. I hope you all had a great Christmas and that 2012 arrived in style. For me it was party time in my Cornish village and a traditional swim with villagers in the sea on Christmas morning, followed by plenty of fine port to warm up! My 3 year old twins kept me pretty busy with all of their new toys and I have managed to have some good workouts at my local club so I am feeling pretty good to go again. We have continued to get some fine coverage over the Christmas period and in particular  you may have seen the C4 spot we got  where I was interviewed about funding and where there was some great footage of the GB Cup in Cardiff. Again wheelchair rugby was singled out as the game to watch not that there are any spare tickets for the Paralympics as they are all sold out. On that subject if you do have tickets you don’t want then remember that it is a criminal offence to resale tickets on the open market but you can resale through LOCOG between 6 January and 3 February go to http://www.tickets.london2012.com for details. There will be a lot to communicate over the coming weeks so do keep your eye on my blog and on the website in general so that you don’t miss out. In the next few days we welcome Kirsty Clarke into the team as Head Operations and we restart squad training at Stoke on 17 Jan. Don’t forget to vote for your torch carrier – see home page of website. The successful person will be selected by the DMG on 7 February so make sure you get your voice heard. I will also be giving out news about how you can get to see the Test Event in April. So have a great start to 2012 and stay in touch – add any comment to my blog or email me and use your DMG rep.

Here’s to a very successful 2012

David

 

About gbwronline

I am the Chief Executive of Great Britain Wheelchair Rugby.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment